WRC — Subaru Team 1995 (PHOTO)


Subaru used the rally team to demonstrate their proprietary symmetrical all-wheel drive system. Thanks to their performances in the World Championship, Subaru planned to increase sales of their cars and popularize the AWD system.

The team has been extremely strong throughout its history, competing in the WRC more than any other manufacturer of the time. Subaru WRT has won the championship three times in the manufacturers’ standings (1995, 1996, and 1997), as well as three times in the drivers’ individual standings (1995, 2001 and 2003). However, the team’s success began to decline starting with the 2005 season, when Petter Solberg secured the second position in the individual standings. The results did not meet expectations and became the object of criticism. In 2006, an updated car was brought to the stages of the World Championship, which had high hopes. However, that season was a complete disappointment. The following year, 2007, was no better, and Phil Mills called it «the second season from hell.»