Full Moto2 and Moto3 race results

A tense 20-lap Moto3 grand prix kicked off Sunday’s race action at Le Mans, with poleman David Alonso narrowing Dani Holgado’s championship lead with his third win of the season.

Tech3 GasGas rider Holgado leaped Alonso off the line at the start and ran in the lead for the opening eight laps, before Intact GP’s Collin Veijer came through at the Turn 6 right-hander on the ninth tour.

Veijer’s stint at the front didn’t last long, as Holgado came through again at Turn 2 on the run up to the Dunlop chicane on lap 11.

An enraged David Munoz (BOE Motorsports) demoted Holgado briefly at the Turn 7 left on the same lap, but the Spaniard had been hit with a double long lap penalty for an earlier collision with Ricardo Rossi.

Munoz instantly served the first of those penalties and would later crash out of the race.

Holgado retook the lead when Munoz peeled off into the penalty lane, though a mistake at Turn 6 on lap 13 allowed Veijer back through again.

The pair would trade the lead twice more on lap 15 – when they touched going through Turn 1 – and lap 18, before Aspar’s Alonso jumped the pair of them at Turn 9 on the same tour.

Alonso resisted a retaliation from Holgado across the final few laps and got to the chequered flag 0.105 seconds clear of the Tech3 rider to reduce his championship lead to one point.

David Alonso, CFMOTO Aspar Team

David Alonso, CFMOTO Aspar Team

Photo by: Gold and Goose / Motorsport Images

Veijer completed the podium from the sister Aspar bike of Joel Esteban and MT Helmets – MSI’s Ivan Ortola.

Adrian Fernandez (Leopard) was sixth despite two long lap penalties for irresponsible riding in practice, while Ryuesei Yamanaka (MT Helmets – MSI), Jose Antonio Rueda (Ajo KTM), Tatsuki Suzuki (Intact GP) and Angel Piqueras (Leopard) rounded out the top 10.

Moto3 results:


D. Alonso CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team

80 CF MOTO 20   147.7   25
2 Spain D. Holgado Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 96 GASGAS 20 0.105 147.6   20

C. Veijer Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP

95 Husqvarna 20 0.137 147.6   16

J. Esteban CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team

78 CF MOTO 20 0.234 147.6   13

I. Ortola MT Helmets — MSI

48 KTM 20 0.136 147.6   11
6 Mexico A. Fernandez Leopard Racing 31 Honda 20 0.185 147.6   10
7 Japan R. Yamanaka MT Helmets — MSI 6 KTM 20 0.161 147.6   9

J. Antonio Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

99 KTM 20 0.077 147.6   8
9 Japan T. Suzuki Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP 24 Husqvarna 20 0.066 147.6   7

Á. Piqueras Leopard Racing

36 Honda 20 1.062 147.5   6

L. Lunetta SIC58 Squadra Corse

58 Honda 20 4.552 147.2   5

J. Roulstone Red Bull GASGAS Tech3

12 GASGAS 20 0.188 147.2   4
13 Australia J. Kelso BOE Motorsports 66 KTM 20 0.314 147.1   3
14 Japan T. Furusato Honda Team Asia 72 Honda 20 3.559 146.9   2

D. Almansa Rivacold Snipers Team

22 Honda 20 0.574 146.8   1

X. Zurutuza Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

85 KTM 20 1.925 146.7    
17 Italy S. Nepa LEVELUP — MTA 82 KTM 20 2.925 146.5    

N. Dettwiler CIP

55 KTM 20 11.741 145.7    


10 KTM 20 0.858 145.6    

T. Buasri Honda Team Asia

5 Honda 20 5.369 145.2    
21 United Kingdom J. Whatley MLav Racing 70 Honda 20 13.619 144.3    
dnf Spain D. Munoz BOE Motorsports 64 KTM 16 4 Laps 142.5 Retirement  
dnf Italy M. Bertelle Rivacold Snipers Team 18 Honda 15 1 Lap 147.2 Retirement  
dnf United Kingdom S. Ogden MLav Racing 19 Honda 10 5 Laps 146.9 Accident  
dnf Italy R. Rossi CIP 54 KTM 7 3 Laps 147.0 Accident  

F. Farioli SIC58 Squadra Corse

7 Honda 1 6 Laps 128.3 Retirement  

Garcia triumphs in Moto2

In the 22-lap Moto2 grand prix, Sergio Garcia scored a second win of the 2024 season after dominating from the off at Le Mans.

The MT Helmets – MSI rider leaped into first off the line after poleman Aron Canet plummeted down the order when he botched the start.

Garcia instantly pulled a seven-tenth lead over American Racing’s Joe Roberts and would continue to extend his advantage to 3.174s come the chequered flag.

The battle for the final podium spots raged to the end, with Ai Ogura coming from 17th on the grid to complete an MT Helmets – MSI 1-2 ahead of Speed Up’s Alonso Lopez.

Lopez had been in second coming into the final lap before being passed by Ogura at Turn 9, and fended off Roberts by 0.060s on the run to the line.

It marked the first non-Kalex podium since the 2012 Valencia Moto2 GP, when Suter chassis occupied all three rostrum spots.

Honda Team Asia’s Somkiat Chantra was fifth from Canet, the Fantic Racing rider – carrying a fractured left ankle from a crash at Jerez – denied a heroic podium late on.

Fermin Aldeguer was seventh on the second Speed Up team bike from Marc VDS’ Tony Arbolino, Gresini’s Albert Arenas and Aspar’s Izan Guevara.

Gresini’s Manuel Gonzalez had been an early podium contender but crashed out of that battle on lap six.

Garcia now leads the championship by seven points from Roberts, with Aldeguer 26 adrift in third.

Moto2 results:

Source link