FIA GT Season 2000 (PHOTO)


The 2000 FIA GT Championship was the fourth FIA GT Championship, an auto racing series endorsed by the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) and organized by the Stéphane Ratel Organisation (SRO). The races featured grand touring cars divided into two categories, GT and N GT, with drivers and teams titles awarded for each category. The championship began on 26 March 2000 and ended 22 October 2000 after ten races, all held in Europe.

After the 1999 season featured just a single category of cars competing, the FIA GT Championship once again became a two-class series for 2000 with the introduction of the Group N-GT cars by the FIA. The new category was positioned below the former GT2 class of cars from 1997 to 1999, now renamed to just GT, and was awarded an FIA Cup instead of a full FIA Championship. Britons Julian Bailey and Jamie Campbell-Walter won the GT Drivers’ Championship with five victories, in chassis number GTM 002 driving for the GT team champions Lister Storm Racing in their first full season of FIA GT competition. Christophe Bouchut and Patrice Goueslard were the inaugural N-GT Cup winners, driving for Teams title winners Larbre Compétition Chereau.